Match 7
Group D
June 11, 2006
Nuremberg
Referee: Roberto Rosetti (ITA)
Assistant Referee 1: Cristiano Copelli (ITA)
Assistant Referee 2: Alessandro Stagnoli (ITA)
Fourth Official: Jerome Damon (RSA)
Fifth Official: Enock Molefe (RSA)
Official match report: html/pdf
FIRST HALF
During the first half, the players threatened to get out of hand for the first few minutes, and then again for a period between about 16' and a little before the Iranian goal (36'). Rosetti did an excellent job of game management during these periods, by calling fouls consistently, advancing quickly to the foul area in the aftermath of a call, and calming the players down with words and gestures.
The importance of a referee showing fairness: Rosetti demonstrated his awareness early that Mexico’s Jared Borgetti would be a target of the Iranian defense, making calls against defenders accordingly, but also did not allow Borgetti to foul in order to gain an advantage.
SECOND HALF
48' (minor technical detail): Unclear why Rosetti held up the Iranian throw for a moment at this point. When the camera cut to a close-up, he appeared to be tucking in the back of his shirt. It is possible he had to correct a problem with his radio transmitter.
53': Upon review of the live wide-shot footage (no close replay was shown, at least on ABC), the Mexican goalkeeper Sanchez probably handled the ball just outside of his penalty area while collecting a long kick from the Iranian keeper. The assistant on the Mexican defending end cannot make that call, since he is looking across and cannot even see the line in question. Rosetti, the center referee, was at half field and could not have been closer, because he had been at the top of the area for the previous Mexican attack. When the center referee cannot make that call, it falls to the trailing assistant on the Iranian defending end, who was probably about 30 yards from the end-line by that point, depending on the position of the second-to-last Iranian defender. Unfortunately, the very Iranian attacker who raised his arm to indicate handling (and may well have been honest in doing so) was most likely obstructing the view of this referee, the only one who could have made the call.
55': Iran’s Nekounam issued a caution for Delay of Restart. He deliberately kicked the ball away to prevent the Mexicans from taking a quick throw. Expect to see more of these kinds of cautions in the coming weeks (this is the second or third already in the tournament). The referees have received special instructions from FIFA to use cards to crack down on this kind of unsporting behavior during Germany 2006.
58': Mexican fans will no doubt have been shouting for a penalty for the goal line tackle on Marquez. If a similar blind-siding had occurred in the middle of the field, Rosetti would probably have called a foul. Common practice, however, is for the referee to treat potential fouls in certain parts of the penalty area (the parts without a clear path to the goal) with a different standard. He has to evaluate the direction the attacker is moving and his potential of creating a goal-scoring play. This is because calling a penalty likely will result in a goal. In this case, we feel Rosetti’s decision was correct. Marquez had headed the ball toward the goal line just before the collision, and almost certainly could not have reached it to make a decent play before it crossed the goal line.
86': Another possible penalty, where no call was given, and a similar rationale. Mexico’s Perez was knocked over at the corner of the area close to the goal line. Again, in the middle of the field this contact probably would have been called a foul. Rosetti was in a perfect position to make this call -- as per FIFA’s instruction to referees in this Cup to be closer to the action -- and indicated to Perez that there would be no call.
90’: Caution to Mexico’s Salcido. We remain unsure why Salcido received this card, even after reviewing the footage and studying the game report. The initial call was -- we thought -- handling and was signaled by the assistant. There appeared to be little physical contact between Salcido and the Iranian attacker, almost ruling out any call besides handling. However, the game report shows an equal number of Mexican "fouls committed" and Iranian "fouls suffered" (13), suggesting that the initial call could not have been handling (no one "suffers" a foul when a player handles the ball). It is possible this is a mistake in the game report, and that both the call and the card were for handling. If so, it was the referee's judgement that Salcido had "deliberately and blatantly handle[d] the ball to prevent an opponent gaining possession" (see Laws, "Additional Instructions" under "Deliberately Handling the Ball"). If the report is correct, though, it leaves only the possibility that the card was for something occurring after the initial call. However, we saw no dispute of the call on Salcido’s part nor any failure to retreat. Also, it appeared that Rosetti intended to issue the card immediately after the call. He instructed the Iranians to wait before kicking, and then went to seek Salcido in order to issue the card.
0 Comments:
Post a Comment
<< Home